Skip to content

Three weeks at a national newspaper

May 7, 2011

Hello,

Right now I am in Norway, but last week I was wrapping up three weeks spent at the National Post in the Financial Post section.

I really enjoyed every minute of it. I did a lot of writing for technology and some for the investing section. It was interesting and rewarding to use my business education to ask (what I thought were) meaningful questions and really understand the issues I was writing about. Of course, I still felt way over my head sometimes, but I kind of liked that. I was truly challenged and I think I came out ok. I got a front page article, pitched a story that was picked up by five papers across the country, and ended up with a lot of great additions to my portfolio. Of course, I made lots of mistakes too. But I know I learned a lot and my next job or internship will be better for it.

Here’s a link to the stories I wrote while there (online and in print). When I get home I’ll scan them for my portfolio and post a few of them on the portfolio page.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

